Non-Spoiler Review: The Winner’s Curse

Title: The Winner’s Curse

Author: Marie Rutkoski

Pages: 355

Genre: Dystopian, Politics, Romance

9780374384678_p0_v4_s260x420

My ratings:  

 Finally! I finished this book!

Synopsis: As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. The slave’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for the slave.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

My thoughts: I was reading this book in between exams, so it made the story a bit boring with the politics things as i am not a fan of that. But it was still a good book.

Kestrel is a bad ass character and I love that about her. Throughout the first chapter, we can already see that she is an observing person. She kinda can see through when someone is lying by observing and analyzing not magical powers and stuffs. Lol. While she lives in a world that use war and fighting as a way out, she is not a strong-fighter, but she used her wits. She is cunning and strong.

And the slave. I don’t want to say his name because it kinda is a spoiler thing. He is also cunning and smart. But he is always a step behind Kestrel, which I love about this book. He is the bad boy, but also the good boy.

Overall, I enjoyed it. The plots, the story was good. I love the world, the settings was so interesting and original. But it was kinda boring at times. Like i said, I am not a big fan of politics.

And though the ending had me craving for more, I don’t think I will be picking up the next book any time soon. I think I just need a short break from this world. I will definitely read the second book, just not now. I would recommend it to anyone though.

I am in the mood for contemporary romance right now but unfortunately all of my tbr books are fantasy and dystopian.

My next read is going to be Throne of glass!

11 thoughts on “Non-Spoiler Review: The Winner’s Curse

      1. I loved them both and I’m not entirely sure – they both had a slightly different feel to them. (I have reviews on them both). However, I will say this: the end gave me a kind of Throne of Glass vibe. (Without the magic)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

