Non-Spoiler Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass

Title: Throne of Glass

Author: Sarah J. Mass

Pages: 404

Genre: Dystopian, Fantasy

Publication: May 7th 2013 by Bloomsbury

Read from: June 14 – June 16  13519397 (1)

      My ratings: 

 

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

 

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world. (Goodreads)

So I never thought I would get to this series, and I still don’t know how I got to read this book. And the most unexpected part is, I love it. First of all, about Celaena, she is the first warrior/violent girl that I love (not that I have read many action books anyway). I expected her to be all cool, kill everyone in her way, doesn’t talk to anyone, arrogant and all of that, you know the assassins type (I have never met one lol I don’t know too). Yes, she is arrogant, and think violently, but she also has a soft spot. She talks to people easily and very friendly. She loves books (one of the reasons I love her), and she plays music. She only kills those she doesn’t like, and those she were paid to kill of course. And she is sarcastic (love that bout her). But when she was arrogant, it was kinda annoying sometimes, because she keeps telling herself and everybody that she is the best, the right-hand of Arobynn Hamel-the assassins’ master-even though it’s the truth it happened too often in the book. But I also love it when she threatens (she meant it for real XD) others.

“My name is Celaena Sardothien. But it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me.”

I also love that she has passed so many things at such a young age (18), and she is still strong, still fighting for her freedom.

“We all bear scars,… Mine just happen to be more visible than most.”

And Dorian, our prince. My heart shattered into pieces at that last scene. I dont know which team I am on really. Dorian or Chaol. Dorian: Prince. Kind. Bookworm. Loyal. Humor. Chaol: Smart. Fighter. Humor. Stern. Devoted. Now choose. I cantttttt.  Back to the storyline, even though this is a dystopian book, it has a fantasy element in it- angels, gods and stuffs. I kinda wish it didn’t have that element, I just want it to be an action-fighting book with no magical powers involved, but I also find myself enjoying the mystery of all the magic, its history and stuffs. I also wish there were more fighting and killing throughout the book, not just the last battle. The last battle was so violent, I kept muttering Ouch! to myself. Overall, I love this book. I would recommend it to those who like strong girl protagonist and action-packed book.

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”

I am already starting Crown of Midnight, and lurrrrvvvving it.

14 thoughts on “Non-Spoiler Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass

    1. Can’t wait for your reviews :)! I’m currently reading Assansin’s Blade on IBooks too but as i continue on and on, I’m kinda not interested in Celaena and Sam’s story anymore :/// HEIR OF FIRE IS AMAZINGGG BTW

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The Assassins Blade is taking me longer to read, I guess it’s probably because it’s novellas and not just one continuous story like the books. I do like Sam though a lot and he reminds me of Dorian, i don’t know why, he should really remind me of Chaol, but he doesnt (: Im so excited to finish it so I can move on to Heir of Fire. Its nice seeing the references though like in Crown of Midnight when she said that a friend had told her “the only way to kill a witch is to cut of her head ” well we get to meet that friend in the third novella so that’s been nice, and we see her stealing the Asterion horse too

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

