Non-spoiler Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah.J.Mass

Title: Crown of midnight (the sequel to Throne of Glass)

Author: Sarah.J.Mass

Pages: 418

Publication: August 15, 2013 by Bloomsbury

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Awesomeness (Hell yes)

17670709

My Ratings 

 Warning: Dont read this review if you haven’t read throne of glass (the first book).

My review for the first book here.

Goodreads Synopsis:

“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

My thoughts: I finished the book a minute ago. And I can’t breathe. So this review might not be so normal, since the feel is all there. The information is still processing. I mean I saw it coming because of the title of the third book and the fanarts. But it’s so big, and a lot of things were happening. Oh my gawwttttt! I was blown away.

So the book started out slow, Celaena became the king’s champion and so the king gives her names of people she had to assassinate, but she couldn’t do it. She knew they were innocent, so she faked her victim’s death. I thought the book would be all about those fake deaths. But I was wrong! Very wrong! There were so many things! The last 50 pages! I was panting and gasping.

I don’t know how to describe the book. Okay first, the fake deaths. Then the death led to more mystery. The magic. The Wrydmarks. Chaol and Celaena. Nehemia. Chaol. Killing. Wrydmarks. Secret doors. Swords. Daggers. Killing. Slashing. Fighting. Wryd and Wryd. Dorian. Wendlyn. Chaol and Chaol. And the last thing: Aelin!

So as I mentioned, this book has more magic in it than the first. And do I love it! I said in my review of the first book that I don’t really like the magic, but I’m taking it back now.

I don’t know what to say. For those who started this series and haven’t picked the second book, go pick it up! You need to! This book is the perfect sequel. I used to believe that most sequels suck, but definitely not this one. Just go read it!

And I’m so glad I have Heir of Fire in my hand so I can continue soon, I think I’ll die if I have to wait for orders and stuffs. I don’t know why I haven’t picked it up sooner.

Now I’m gonna rest, it’s already midnight here (I don’t think I can sleep with all the feels).

Goodnight or Morning or Afternoon to you!

7 thoughts on “Non-spoiler Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah.J.Mass

  1. I’m glad you liked it because I certainly loved this one!! The first book, Throne of Glass disappointed me actually, so I was really happy after I read Crown of Midnight!! Wait ’til you read Heir of Fire! I’m looking forward to your reviews! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! Throne of Glass didn’t live up to my expectation but Crown of midnight!!!! I’m about ten pages into Heir of fire but I wanted to read on but was a bit busy lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, I’m sure you’ll find the time! 😀 I can’t wait to hear what you think of it! Out of all three, Heir of Fire is my favorite (yet). The series just keeps getting better and better!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

