Book Review | READY PLAYER ONE by ERNEST CLINE

“Being human totally sucks most of the time. Videogames are the only thing that make life bearable.”

Hello, amigo! 😉

I’ve read Ready Player One and my live is complete. I’m so happy to have  a satisfactory ending *hug the book*. I just mentioned that I was on page 208 of RPO in my Thursday post yesterday. So, I flowed through 180 pages in 5 hours with no break! It was that good!

“I burned through all of my extra lives in a matter of minutes, and my two least-favorite words appeared on the screen: GAME OVER.”

A1bCf-Xhe4L

Title: Ready Player One

Author: Ernest Cline

Pages: 374 (paperback)

Publication: August 16th 2011 by Random House NY (first published January 1st 2011)

Genre: Sci-fi, Fantasy, Dystopia, YA, Cocaine or sth of that sort (it was so addictive XD)

In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the  OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them. When Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.

There are a few things I want to talk fangirl about this super cool book.

1/. World Building: Superb. I really really like the world. OASIS is super awesome. This is the most detailed world building book I’ve every read. I can imagine every cool things in this book vividly in my mind. A million thumbs up to Ernest Cline for this. The OASIS is like a lifesaver realistic videogame or more like a lifestyle, where everyone can create their own avatar anyway they want. Literally everyone in the world has their own OASIS account because it’s not just a videogame, it can used in an educational way or for business and escape from the ugly reality (I love when Wade explained the world’s situation lol). And the technology, even though it wasn’t that unique it was still amazing.

“It was the dawn of new era, one where most of the human race now spent all of their free time inside a videogame.”

2/. Plots: Addicting. The story started from when the creator of the OASIS, James Halliday, died. He had became a billionaire because of the success of the OASIS. When he died, a video was uploaded to the world, its content was that Halliday had created a quest videogame quest of the history for OASIS users, to find a golden egg hidden in the OASIS (somewhere on one of its thousands planets) for who could find the egg will inherit all his money which is billions of dollars. Basically, every individual in the world abandoned their real life and dissolve into the haptic chair, gloves and visors (equipments you need to play the OASIS which allow you to see the virtual utopia world and feel the objects your avatar grabbed). Halliday explained in the video that there would be three keys to find, three gates to cross to reach the egg. He also gave the riddle which would lead to the hiding place of the first copper key.

But five years passed and no one had a clue about what the riddle mean. People had already given up when the scoreboard that always remained 000000 changed, it now had the name Parzival with 100000 scores in the first place. So we follow our main character Wade Watts or Parzival(in the OASIS) fight monsters, aliens, bad guys,… to victory.

And because Halliday was an 80s kid, most of his favourite things were from that decade, in the book there were loads of 80s entertainment references. Like alot.

“You have been recruited by the Star League to defend the Frontier against Xur and the Ko-Dan Armada”

3/. Character: Awesome people. Wade was a smart funny introvert, and living inside his head was wonderfully hilarious.

“You could shove it up your ass and pretend you’re a corn dog.”

COURTESY VIOLATION-RESPONSE MUTED-VIOLATION LOGGED”

“No giant two-headed hermaphrodite demon unicorn avatars were allowed. Not on school ground, anyway.”

Aech and Art3mis (Wade’s friends in the OASIS) were also amazing characters. I love the sarcastic conversations lol. I smiled the whole time in the part when Wade saw Aech in real life. Also Wade and Art3mis were super adorable together.

“She grinned. “Don’t you want to build a huge interstellar spaceship, load it full of videogames, junk food, and comfy couches, and then get the hell out of here?” “I’m up for that, too,” I said. “if it means I get to spend the rest of my life with you.”

Those are the things i love about the book, however there was one problem. Ready Player one was published by Arrow books which I believe is an imprint of Random House publishing company. My problem is the font size, it was very very small, I had a hard time reading and the small fonts just put me in a sleepy mood. That’s why it took me almost 4 days to read it.

But for the plot and everything, this book deserves full 5 shining stars.

Picture20
I know the plot that I explained is kinda confusing but in the book it wasnt hard to understand at all. So that’s my thought on Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, I feel like I havent express my good feeling of the book enough but seriously you should read it.

Thanks for reading, I’ll see you in my next post. 😉

Love, Kimsiang.

P.S. I’m currently rereading Eleanor and Park and reading e-Paper towns.

“I was just another sad, lost, lonely soul, wasting his life on a glorified videogame.”

7 thoughts on “Book Review | READY PLAYER ONE by ERNEST CLINE

  1. Fantastic review! You made me really excited to check this book out. I recently read Armada but didn’t love it. But RPO sounds amazing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

