My top 5 most anticipated August 2015 releases

Hello! (It’s English this time lol)

It feels like July 1st was just yesterday, but August is already coming near! Scary how fast it is, eh? Just a twitch of an eye and 2015 will be gone and I’ll still be a no one XD. Still working my way very slowly towards my dreams, wondering if I’ll ever reach it. I’m getting dramatic again lol. Anyway, since August is just around the Connor (I like him alright XD) corner, here’s my most anticipated books of August 2015.

1. Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid

24338298

Never date your best friend

Always be original

Sometimes rules are meant to be broken

Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliché high school kids—the ones who sit at the same lunch table every day, dissecting the drama from homeroom and plotting their campaigns for prom king and queen. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they’d never, ever do in high school.

Some of the rules have been easy to follow, like #5, never die your hair a color of the rainbow, or #7, never hook up with a teacher. But Dave has a secret: he’s broken rule #8, never pine silently after someone for the entirety of high school. It’s either that or break rule #10, never date your best friend. Dave has loved Julia for as long as he can remember.

Julia is beautiful, wild and impetuous. So when she suggests they do every Never on the list, Dave is happy to play along. He even dyes his hair an unfortunate shade of green. It starts as a joke, but then a funny thing happens: Dave and Julia discover that by skipping the clichés, they’ve actually been missing out on high school.

And maybe even on love.

GoodReads ratings: 3.68

Expected publication: August 4th 2015 by Harlequin Teen (first published August 1st 2015)

Pre-Order the book on Amazon here.

2. The rest of us just live here by Patrick Ness

51dDM7po-yL

What if you aren’t the Chosen One?

The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life. Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

GoodReads ratings: 4.08

Expected publication: August 27th 2015 by Walker Books

Pre-Order the book on Amazon here.

3. Not after everything by Michelle Levy

514+k5kVZ9L

A gritty but hopeful love story about two struggling teens— great for fans of The Spectacular Now, Willow, and Eleanor and Park

Tyler has a football scholarship to Stanford, a hot girlfriend, and a reliable army of friends to party with. Then his mom kills herself. And Tyler lets it all go. Now he needs to dodge what his dad is offering (verbal tirades and abuse) and earn what his dad isn’t (money).

Tyler finds a job that crashes him into Jordyn, his former childhood friend turned angry-loner goth-girl. She brings Tyler an unexpected reprieve from the never-ending pity party his life has become. How could he not fall for her?

But with his dad more brutally unpredictable than ever, Tyler knows he can’t risk bringing Jordyn too deeply into the chaos. So when violence rocks his world again, will it be Jordyn who shows him the way to a hopeful future? Or after everything, will Tyler have to find it in himself?

GoodReads Ratings: 4.09

Expected publication: August 4th 2015 by Dial

Pre-order the book from Amazon here.

4. Reawakened by Colleen Houck

17331819

When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the last thing she expects to find is a live Egyptian prince with godlike powers, who has been reawakened after a thousand years of mummification.

And she really can’t imagine being chosen to aid him in an epic quest that will lead them across the globe to find his brothers and complete a grand ceremony that will save mankind.

But fate has taken hold of Lily, and she, along with her sun prince, Amon, must travel to the Valley of the Kings, raise his brothers, and stop an evil, shape-shifting god named Seth from taking over the world.

GoodReads Ratings: 4.20

Expected publication: August 11th 2015 by Delacorte Press

Pre-order the book on Amazon here.

5. Green Valentine by Lili Wilkinson

25808675

Astrid Katy Smythe is beautiful, smart and popular.

She’s a straight-A student and a committed environmental activist. She’s basically perfect.

Hiro is the opposite of perfect. He’s slouchy, rude and resentful. Despite his brains, he doesn’t see the point of school.

But when Astrid meets Hiro at the shopping centre where he’s wrangling shopping trolleys, he doesn’t recognise her because she’s in disguise – as a lobster. And she doesn’t set him straight. Astrid wants to change the world, Hiro wants to survive it.

But ultimately both believe that the world needs to be saved from itself. Can they find enough in common to right all the wrongs between them? A romantic comedy about life and love and trying to make the planet a better place, with a little heartbreak, and a whole lot of hilarity.

GoodReads Ratings: 4.33

Expected publication: August 1st 2015 by Allen & Unwin

This book is currently unavailable on Amazon.


So that was five books in all the millions books that I think interesting. Spare me your thoughts on the book in the comment below? And what are your most anticipated books that will come out next month?


That’s about it in this post! Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time!

Happy Reading, Kimsiang

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s