Book Review | THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US by Kasie West

Hello, bookworms. /waves

I know I just posted on Thursday that I was reading The Hunger games, and now what is this review, Kimsiang? The distance between us?

Well, I finished The Hunger Games yesterday, but I hadn’t been able to write a review (or do I even need to? lol). But during the time, yesterday till today, I’ve finished another book. And that is:

DistanceBetweenUs_Update

Title: The Distance Between Us

Author: Kasie West

Pages: 312

Publication:  July 2nd 2013 by Harper Teen

Genre: YA, contemporary, Romance 

First things first, never judge a book by its cover. I know this cover is not that bad, but two people standing there holding hands, with dramatic lighting? I guess it’s just not my type? I would have never bought this book if I judged it by the cover. In fact, I dont know why I bought the book. It’s obviously not the synopsis.

“Money can’t buy a good first impression.

 Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers learned early that the rich are not to be trusted. And after years of studying them from behind the cash register of her mom’s porcelain-doll shop, she has seen nothing to prove otherwise. Enter Xander Spence: he’s tall, handsome, and oozing rich. Despite his charm and the fact that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, Caymen’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. With so many obstacles standing in their way, can she close the distance between them?”

Have I proved my point about the synopsis?

So we have our main character, Caymen (Caveman KD lol), whose mom owns a doll shop, which she also helps working in it. In Caymen’s world, there are two types of people, the riches and the people who sell stuffs to the riches, she never likes them thanks to her mother. Her mom has raised her to think very negatively about the Riches due to her own troubled past with a rich ex-boyfriend. So when Xander, who ‘beckons’ her when they first met at the doll store, Caymen has already made up her mind about him. But when she gets to know him better, with all their ‘Career nights’ every Saturday, Caymen starts to think that not all riches are like what her mother says they would be or the one she has met.

I absolutely loved this story to bits. Caymen is a very likeable character, she is ‘exceptionally’ sarcastic, I never felt bored or want to put the book down.

“So Caymen…”
“So, Xander…”
“Like the islands.”
“What?”
“Your name. Caymen. Like the Cayman Islands. Is that your mom’s favourite place to visit or something?”
“No, it’s her third favourite place. I have an older brother named Paris and an older sister named Sydney.”
“Wow.” He opens the bag, takes out a muffin, and hands it to me. The top glistens with sprinkled sugar. “Really?”
I gently unwrap it. “No.”

The sarcasm is not the kind everyone will enjoy, but it was just right for me, leaving me laughing out loud at almost every page.

I put up my hands. “Oh, I don’t drink. I’m seventeen.”
“So? I’m nineteen.”
“My mom says before I turn eighteen she still has the right to murder me.” My mom always tells me to blame it on her if I am ever in an uncomfortable situation. It seems to work well.

And Xander, tall, gorgeous, also sarcastic and obvi rich. He is a swoon-worthy guy, but for some reason he hasn’t become one of my fictional crushes, I like him when he’s with Caymen.

“Yeah, they haven’t hand dug graves in years. I just thought it would be fun.”

“I’m going to kill you.”

“This would be the perfect place.”

Overall, the plots, the characters, the writing style is just perfect. It’s a short funny romantic read, and I personally love this book and definitely would pick up more of Kasie’s works. And you should too!

I don’t have a single problem with this book, so here is my rating:

Picture20


Have any of you guys read this book? If so, what did you think of it? And if you have not, PICK IT UP!!


Thanks for reading! See you on my next one 🙂

Love,

Kimsiang

Ps. I have exams coming up :(((, decided to squeeze more reviewing and revising into my reading schedule :((((


Some of my favourite quotes:

“Feelings, my dear daughter, you will perhaps learn one day, can be the most costly thing in the universe.”

“Sometimes it’s the little things that bring that special someone back to us in some small way.”

“This is me facing failure. This is me putting everything on the line even though I know I might lose. And I’m terrified. But like you said, anything worth having is worth the risk.”

20 thoughts on “Book Review | THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US by Kasie West

      1. I knowwww. And my school just arranged the exam schedule so that the exams only take place two days, 5 subjects a day, morning and afternoon. I’ve never hated my school more than this TT

        Liked by 1 person

  1. KIMMY! Your sneak peeks made me laugh and smile so hard! I love sarcastic people. They make me laugh so hard!!! I definitely need to pick this book up soon. I’ve never tries Kasie West but I’m always so intrigued with all her books. 🙂 Goodluck with your exams! Hope you get high grades. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you :))) I love sarcastic people too (I’m one myself XD). You should pick this book up! It’s my first Kasie West book too, and I’m addicted :))). I’m hoping I’ll get good grades too lol 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

