Book Review | MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES

Afternoon guys! It’s 12pm now in Cambodia. What time is it in your country? Are you an earlybird, latenightowl or a nappig? Lol I just made the nappig up XD

I finished My heart and other black holes on the 31st of July as promised and I loved it! The cover btw /heart-eyed emoji.

“Maybe we all have darkness inside of us and some of us are better at dealing with it than others.”

It might not be my favorite of all time but I wouldn’t change it for the better. This book is perfect as the way it is and I would recommend it to anyone.

“I bet if you cut open my stomach, the black slug of depression would slide out.

18336965

Title: My heart and other Black Holes

Author: Jasmine Warga

Pages: 302

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance, Mental Illness, Suicide

So this book started out as our depressed and suicidal character Aysel stumbled upon a section on Smooth Passages, a website for suicidal people. The section was called Suicide Partners, where people can find people to die with basically. Aysel found a guy named FrozenRobot looking for a suicide partner, he was just a year older than she is and he was also living nearby. FrozenRobot want to do it on April 7th, so Aysel decided that FrozenRobot and she was going to have a deathdate on April 7th.

“Sometimes I wonder if my heart is like a black hole–it’s so dense that there’s no room for light, but that doesn’t mean it can’t still suck me in.”

FrozenRobot aka. Roman wanted to meet and get to know Aysel first so that he knows she wasn’t a flake. And so obviously the getting to know each other leads to sth more.

“You’re like a grey sky. You’re beautiful, even though you don’t want to be.”

Aysel is depressed because of what her father had done. There’s a black hole inside her that always want to swallow her up. Aysel is a funny, love physics, quite relatable character and living inside her head was so fun and sad at the same time.

“You know, Zellie, there are enough broken things in the world. You shouldn’t go around breaking things just for the fun of it.”

Roman is sarcastic and perfect with his crooky smile and charcoal drawing. I love our two main character, they are so realistic and funny that makes the story more interesting. I also love that Roman was a popular guy, he had friends, he was good-looking, a basketball champion, he didn’t look like someone who wanted to die. But everybody has their own story.

The character development was also very awesome. I could feel it, Aysel’s voice developed gradually throughout the story, she was like a different person but in a good way.

“It’s funny how once you like someone, even the unattractive things they do somehow become endearing.”

To sum up, I really like this book! I’m not depressed or suicidal but I find the characters very relatable and their voices was so real. Even though, I would love this book to be darker. We only get to see Aysel’s depressed side the first few chapters and then Roman came in ad of course he changed her.

“I wish I could draw you how I see you. I’d draw a boy with the most magnetic smile, and the kindest hands, and eyes that are gloomy, but can sometimes be bright. I’d draw a boy who deserves to see the ocean.”

“He’s no longer the person I want to die with; he’s the person I want to be alive with.”

Picture20 


Have you read this book? What do you think about it? If you haven’t, read it

SEIYA!

Love,

Kimsiang

P.s.

download

14 thoughts on “Book Review | MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES

  1. It’s ten am here (in France), I don’t know if that makes me an early bird or not, haha 🙂
    Great review! I’ve been reluctant to read this one for now, because I thought it was darker, and I’m not sure I could have handled it. I didn’t read many books about dark subjects such as depression and/or suicide (well I am now, starting slowly), and so I don’t know yet if I can handle it. This one seems like a great read, though, maybe I will try it out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. :))) I’m on summer break, I’m usually a nappig during this time 🙂 This is prolly my first ever book about depression and stuffs, and I didn’t think it’s too dark. It’s a great read, romantic and funny, there were some dark parts ofc but it’s acceptable and relatable! You should check it out 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

