Arc Review | EVERYTHING EVERYTHING by Nicola Yoon

Hello! /shake hands?

I just finished Everything Everything last night and it’s amazing! I’ve seen this book around quite alot  and it looks interesting so I requested this book for review from Netgalley. Here’s what I think about it:

1419375898894

Title: Everything Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Pages: 320 

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Source: Provided by Netgalley for honest review

This innovative, heartfelt debut novel tells the story of a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world. When a new family moves in next door, she begins a complicated romance that challenges everything she’s ever known. The narrative unfolds via vignettes, diary entries, texts, charts, lists, illustrations, and more.

15089872._SX540_

Picture Source: Unknown (If you know who Atienor is, please tell me so that I can give him/her credit)

I really like this book. The reveal at the end just blew my mind, I honestly didn’t expect that, this book is definitely one of my favorites right now.

“Maybe growing up means disappointing the people we love.”

In this book, we have our main character, Madeline who has spent her whole life inside her house with her nurse, Carla and her mother. She has never left her house because she had SCID which is kinda an allergy disease, when you are allergic to practically everything. Maddy breathes in the filtered air in her house, take classes online, blogging and reading all her life until one day a moving truck outside indicated that a new family is moving in next door. They have a daughter, Kara and a son’ Oliver aka Olly.

Olly, mysterious, fast, active, always climb the walls XD and made Maddy so curious about what he did on the rooftop everyday. Maddy observed them everyday until one day she had the courage to email Olly. Their relationships grew but it’s hard because Maddy was sick.

“In my head I know I’ve been in love before, but it doesn’t feel like it. Being in love with you is better than the first time. It feels like the first time and the last time and the only time all at once.”

I love Maddy as a character, she’s a sweet girl, a fillial duaghter and living inside her head was amusing as she is hilarious and sarcastic too. I love the IMs and Emails between her and Olly, they went perfectly with each other.

“Spoiler alert: Love is worth everything. Everything.”

The writing style was awesome too, with all the little graphs and illustrations. Some of Maddy’s notes and book reviews cracked me up.

“What colour are your eyes?
Olly (O): blue
Madeline (M): Be more specific please
O: jesus. girls. ocean blue
M: Atlantic or Pacific
O: atlantic. What colour are yours?
M: Chocolate brown.
O: More specific please
M: 75% cacao butter, dark chocolate brown
O: hehe. nice”

Overall, Everything Everything is an incredible, funny, short coming of age novel that I can’t get enough of! I will definitely buy this book when it’s out! Looking forward for more works from Nicola Yoon.

“The only thing I know for sure is that this, being here with Olly, being able to love him and be loved by him, is everything.”

Picture20


Thanks for reading and I’ll see you in my next post!

Love,

LazyCaramelReads

20 thoughts on “Arc Review | EVERYTHING EVERYTHING by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

