Book Review | NONE OF THE ABOVE by I.W.Gregorio

Morning, Afternoon, or Good night, bookworms!

I’m here with another book review, its None of the Above by I.W.Gregorio which I just finished last week.

22896551

Title: None of the Above

Author: I.W.Gregorio

Pages: 352 pages

Publication: April 7th 2015 by Balzer + Bray

Genre: YA, Contempoarary, LGBTQ+, Diversity

Source: My hard-earned/bought copy 😉

Also the back cover/kinda synopsis of the book is so cool and interesting!


Basically, this book is about a girl named Kristin, who discovers she was born intersex… and what happens when her secret is revealed to the entire school. Incredibly compelling and sensitively told, None of the Above is a thought-provoking novel that explores what it means to be a boy, a girl, or something in between.

The first thing I want to talk about is that some people are so mean! Everybody just shout at Kristin that ‘She’s a man.’ or ‘hermaphrodite’ and stuffs like that. I mean there are good people but that was like 2 out of 10. Her boyfriend and classmates, I can’t believe it! And that guy she meets at the bar. He’s the worst!

When I started into this book, I wasn’t sure what ‘inter-sex’ is, but how the term was explained in the book was easy to understand, as Gregorio is a surgeon, she did a great job in describing and giving information about the disease and stuffs, even though I still had to search for the meaning of some of the words (which is my own problem, because I don’t have much knowledge on anatomy vocab ><). I actually liked the consulting scene between Kristin and her doctor, and between Kristin and the support group, where other people who are intersex shared their experience.

“The biggest difference between boy and girls is how people treat them”

And Darren! The relationship in this book, even though is a minor part, it got me grinning alone like an idiot.

“Love isn’t a choice. You fall for the person, not their chromosomes.”

There was also a great family relationship between Kristin and her dad. He was so sweet and supportive, he did all the research on the subject and encouraged Kristin through everything.

“You know I love you too, sweetie. Forever and ever, until the sun fades.”

Kristin’s character development shone throughout the book, she changed from the girl who used to hid and ran away from problems to the one to came over her fears and accepted herself.


Overall, None of the Above is an educational, fun, quick read revolves around a topic that everyone should know about. This is a must-read!

IMG_7815


Thank you for reading! I hope to see you on my next post!

Until next time,

LazyCaramelReads

5 thoughts on “Book Review | NONE OF THE ABOVE by I.W.Gregorio

Leave a Reply

