Arc Review | THE HEARTBREAKERS by Ali Novak

Hi guys!

I’ve been so busy with this group project/competition, which I have film a 3min film. I’ve never known that filming is sooooo hard! I’m occupied with the film works from morning to evening everyday, I haven’t read anything at all. :(. But now I’m back again with another review! My second arc review :).

24862103

Title: The Heartbreakers

Author: Ali Novak

Pages: 336 pages

Publication: August 4th 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Source: I was provided an arc copy of the book from Netgalley for an honest review.
Getting into this book, I didn’t expect to like it, or as much as I did. I dived right into the digital pages of my phone, knowing nothing about the book except the two sentences on the book cover that said ‘Oliver is the lead singer of the world’s hottest band. Stella has no idea.’

Basically, as explained in the excerpt I’ve read on the cover, our main character Stella has encountered with a member of the hottest band on earth (as described in the book), the Heartbreakers, and she had no idea. Stella kept meeting the boys accidentally, until one day she got to work with them as their photographer and blog-manager. And things happen.

Stella is a sweet girl but her temper could rise up in a second like a rocket, she’s into photography and she’s afraid to leave her sister (the one who loves the band), because Cara is diagnosed with cancer.

I don’t like Oliver much, because when Novak tried to include bits of the other band members story in the 300 pages, I think she forgot about Oliver’s. He didn’t shine as the male protagonist, he only shone when he did bad things (he’s a jerk sometimes). But I like the other boys, Alec, Xander and JJ were all nice and kind and amazing. I would love companion novels.

I can’t help but imagine the Heartbreakers as 5 Seconds of Summer. Three of the boys knew each other then after Alec joined them after listening to them on YouTube just like Ashton. And all the band pranks and stuffs.

Overall, I really enjoy reading this book even though there were some parts I just scrolled over (on my phone).

And here’s my rating:
Picture18


So that’s my review of the Heartbreakers by Ali Novak. Thanks you guys for reading, I hope to see you in my post. 🙂

Love,

Kimsiang

Leave a Reply

