Book Review | THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND by Kasie West

Hi guys!

I’m here to review The fill-in boyfriend by Kasie West, which I finished yesterday.

Lets do it!

(click on image to go to goodreads)

Title: The fill-in Boyfriend

Author: Kasie West

Pages: 352

Publications: May 5th 2015 by HarperTeen

Genre: Contemporary, YA, Romance

Source: Own bought copy

Even though this one didn’t make it to the favourite place in my heart like The Distance between us, I still enjoyed it very much. This isn’t a book that is going to change your life, but it will leave you pleasantly happy after reading it.

This book started when our main character Gia got ditched in the parking lot by her boy friend, Bradley just when she was about to show him to her best friends after telling them he really exists for two months. Gia decided to lie to her best friends by having a fill-in Bradley that night. ‘After that, it’s not her ex-boyfriend she was thinking about but it’s the fill-in one.’

Gia didn’t want to lie but it’s because her ‘best friend’, Jules who seems to do everything against her and has been trying to prove Bradley isn’t real. I have never read about a character like Jules, and I’ve also never met someone like her. And I hate her.

And Gia, she lives in a ‘perfect’ family, her mom is always put together so as her dad, and also Gia. They don’t express what they are feeling and always keep it inside. She starts out as your typical self absorbed popular girl, but really develops into the person she is truly at heart.

I absolutely adored Fill-In Bradley. He was adorable with his messy, hardly manageable brown hair and piercing blue eyes. And he was always worried about Gia-her feelings, her friends, how things were going for her. (I’m a sucker for good boys and gentlemen 😉

“Well, if you’re a mess then I’m a natural disaster.”

“The cutest natural disaster I’ve ever seen.”

I also love Bec, fill-in Bradley’s sister. She is super cute and sarcastic with the ‘I’ll kill everyone’ attitude, but in a good way.

This book also focused on the mass media issue, (but not much)

“How is selfworth measured today? By the amount of likes a post gets, by how many friends we collect, by how many retweets we accumulate? Do we even know what we really think until we post our thoughts online and let others tell us if they are worthy?”

Overall, The fill-in boyfriend is a cute perfect summer read that is perfect for everyone. It might be a bit cliche but that doesn’t make it less perfect.

“I like it when you’re not perfect.”

Picture20


There you have my review of The fill-in boyfriend. I hope you enjoy it and thank you for reading.

Love,

Kimsiang

12 thoughts on “Book Review | THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND by Kasie West

Leave a Reply

