Book Review | The Infinite Sea (The 5th Wave #2) by Rick Yancey

Hello guys!

I’m here with my review of The Infinite Sea, the sequel to The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. I didn’t love The 5th Wave, because it was a bit slow and put me to sleep all the time also I didn’t really understand every scene in the book.

But in this sequel, the whole alien invasion, plot and characters appealed more to me and I loved it.

Also this book was super fast paced and a lot of actions, they were always moving and things were always happening. Everything seemed so realistic and I could actually imagine the situation happening in this real world and that’s scary.

“Maybe you reach a certain point in evolution where boredom is the greatest threat to your survival. Maybe this isn’t a planetary takeover at all, but a game. Like a kid pulling wings off flies.”

I’m kinda in the unpopular opinion here because I love this sequel and I’m super pumped for The Last Star (the last installment in the series) and also the movie. YES THE MOVIE! I’m so excited for it! (I’m not a Chloe fan tho :////)

Now let’s get to the real review. This review will contain spoiler for book one, so if you haven’t read The 5th Wave, I warn you! Spoiler Alert!

16131484

Title: The Infinite Sea

Author: Rick Yancey

Pages: Paperback, 316 pages

Publication: September 16th 2014 by Penguin Books Ltd 

Source: Bought

Genre: YA, Sci-fi, Alien, Post-apocalyptic

So this book started after Cassie’s survival. Now she stayed at Evan’s hotel with the others (her friends not The Others) waiting for Evan (if he survives) to come find her.

And here are what I love about the book.

The multiple POVs were so on point.

My favorite character is definitely Ringer. She was just so smart and strong also funny. Though I don’t know why she preferred the name that the alien gave her than her real name.

I also like Ben, Evan, Cassie, Poundcake and the other characters. Ben is hilarious.

“That’s the cost. That’s the price. Get ready, because when you crush the humanity out of humans, you’re left with humans with no humanity.
In other words, you get what you pay for, motherfucker”
 

Another thing that kept me turning the page is the alien.

Their technology: The CO2 bomb. I’m just—it’s so scary!

We also get to see another side of them. Their plans, the reasons why they came and what they are like. I like the idea that they might be human but I also want them to be 100% alien.

“The answer is they didn’t. They aren’t here, Razor. They never were it’s just us. It’s always been just us.”

This book is just like a vivid bad dream.

It was so creepy, everyone was literally dying!

It was also very fast-paced, I couldn’t turn the page fast enough.

“No hope without faith, no faith without hope, no love without trust, no trust without love. Remove one and the entire human house cards collapses.”

The only thing I didn’t really like about the book is the writing style. I think it’s the writing style that put me off since book one.

Yancey writes repetitive things sometimes, also poetic and storytelling-like.

I didn’t hate it though.

So here’s my ratings:

Picture19

.5

This book is a nightmare comes true yet hilarious and entertaining. I definitely recommend it.


That’s my thoughts on The Infinite Sea! Thank you for reading. Have you guys read the book? Did you like it? Tell me what you think!

Logging off,

Kimsiang

2 thoughts on “Book Review | The Infinite Sea (The 5th Wave #2) by Rick Yancey

Leave a Reply

