Book Review | Angelfall by Susan Ee (Penryn and the end of days #1)

Hi guys!

I’m here today with a book review! I finished Angelfall a few weeks ago XD I totally forgot that I hadn’t written a review when this book is super good! So here I am, ranting about all my feelings and thoughts on the book, please bear with me XD

15863832

Title: Angelfall

Author: Susan Ee

Pages: 326

Publication: May 23rd 2013 by Hodder and Stoughton

Genre: YA, fantasy, post-apocaplyse, awesomeness 😉

Source: Bought

This book is set in a apocalypse world where angels had taken over. One day,when our MC, Penryn, her crippled sister (Paige), and her mental mother tries to find a new sanctuary, they encountered a fight between angels. When the fight ended and one of the angels flew away with Paige, Penryn would do anything to get her back. Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

“You’re like a little girl demanding answers to questions during a covert operation. Why is the sky blue, daddy? Can I ask that man with the machine gun where the bathroom is? If you don’t stay quiet, I’m going to have to dump you.”

First of all, I love that this book is very scary, and the storyline was unpredictable. My reading experience of Angelfall involved making strange faces when there were scary scenes but couldn’t put the book down at the same time.
Also, Penryn and Raffe (I really like this name btw) were witty and strong characters yet both are hilarious and they compliment each other very well. I also like how the Angels are different from human, their special features and stuffs! Raffe and Penryn conversation cracked me up several times.

“Leaking sacks of mutated maggots?” He raises his perfectly arched eyebrow as though I’d just failed my verbal insult exam.”

And their romance? It wasn’t any insta-love thingy or even love-triangle. It was just perfection. And the kiss! The best written kiss scene in the whole wide world.

“So long as you don’t bleed in the shape of wing joints, you should pass for human. Oh, and don’t let anyone pick you up. They’ll know you’re not right as soon as they feel how light you are.”

“I’ll be sure not to let anyone but you carry me in her arms.”

I also really like the world building. It’s unique, interesting and scary. From the abandoned buildings to the angels’ party.

And the plot twist, the ending. It was unpredictable and heart-wrenching. I couldn’t turn the page fast enough. It left my mouth hanging open.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-29653-1389390190-21

“If I was good at marketing, I’d spin you an empty story that sounds profound. But the truth is that we’re all just stumbling around in the dark. Sometimes we hit something terrible.”

Overall, Angelfall is an incredible, scary but entertaining read that I couldn’t put down and I need more!

I highly recommend this book! Thank you for reading. 🙂

Love,

Lazycaramelreads

13 thoughts on “Book Review | Angelfall by Susan Ee (Penryn and the end of days #1)

  1. I haven’t seen anyone describe this book as ‘scary’ yet (but then again I haven’t read that many reviews of it) but that made me instantly more interested in it. I also love love love unpredictable books. Good review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

