ARC Review | THE FOLD by Peter Clines

Hi peeps! What’s up?
I apologize for not making much appearances these days, it’s just that I havent had much access to my laptop. But now I’m back and hopefully not disappearing again! Lol.
So today I’m gonna review a book by Peter Clines called ‘The Fold’.
23164927
Title: The Fold
Author: Peter Clines
Pages: 384
Publication: June 2nd 2015 by Crown
Genre: Sci-fi, Mystery, Fantasy

In this book, we follow our MC, Mike who is a teacher in a small town, but he has a superpower of sort. He has amazing memory, it means he can remember everything he has seen or heard, his memory skills are super charged. The guy is a walking computer. He sees it in his head as ants moving information around. But he doesn’t want to be famous, he has been lie down low for all his life until his best friend called and asked if he was interested in a project.
The project was called the Albuquerque door, a “Fold” that lets you transport/teleport to another place, it shrinks distances so that a traveler can travel hundreds of feet with a single step.

The thing is the team that was working for MIKE’S friend have secrets, they claimed that the door was working (and it was) perfectly safe (not so sure, eh?) but they need more research and funding but they wouldn’t tell others anything else. So Mike’s friend was suspicious and asked Mike for help.

Yet evidence is mounting that this miraculous machine isn’t quite what it seems—and that its creators are harboring a dangerous secret.

As his investigations draw him deeper into the puzzle, Mike begins to fear there’s only one answer that makes sense. And if he’s right, it may only be a matter of time before the project destroys…everything.

I love the sci-fi feels of this book, and because I don’t like to read ebooks, most books usually put me off, but this one even though it was from a 30-year-old man eidetic-memory man perspective, it was super interesting and hilarious, I was hooked right away.
I was shocked and loved every mystery that was revealed, I was like “What am I even reading? I’ve got goosebumps.)

shocked_joey_friends

but then the quality and awesomeness plummeted down from the 200 pages sth onward, and it was very disappointing since it started out  so strong and captivating.

The first 200 pages of this book got me shaking and gasping. I was traumatized at the idea of what the door can do, but after that-the last 100 pages or so- was so boring, I couldn’t even go on, and even though there was action it was the kind that didn’t interest me.

Picture18

*I received a e-ARC copy from Blogging for book and Netgalley.

2 thoughts on “ARC Review | THE FOLD by Peter Clines

Leave a Reply

