Book Review | I’LL MEET YOU THERE by Heather Demetrios

Helloooo bookworms!

Here are my thoughts and feels on I’ll Meet you there by Heather Demetrios.

(Just think the edit is cool! Credit to the owner)

“Maybe all those years when Josh was running around town, acting like an idiot, he was just trying to find a way to escape. Maybe that was what all of us were doing, in our different ways.”

I bought this book because I’ve heard amazing things, but getting into it, the first few chapters, I was pretty disappointed. It was slow paced, nth new (daily activities), small town stuffs, but after that few chapters, it was amazing!

21469068

Title: I’ll meet you there

Author: Heather Demetrios

Pages: 388 pages

Publication: February 3rd 2015 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Realistic fiction
Source: Bought
My review:

jfoa

Skylar Evans lives in the small town of Creek View, but she has got her future planned out. She’s got a scholarship to an art school in San Francisco, she would fall in love with a guy who uses big art words, her mom would continue her work at Taco Bell as usual and she would visit her as often as possible. Everything was perfect. Summer couldn’t go fast enough.

But life is unpredictable. That’s general knowledge.

First, Josh came back from Afghanistan. The Josh who used to work with her at the motel, Josh who got into the Marines, Josh who was an asshole, Josh who she kissed him on the cheek good bye two years ago. She went to his welcome-home-party, he was pretty much the same except-his leg was gone. And somehow, that asshat Josh was gone, too. Skylar found herself falling for this post-Afghanistan Josh just when her life is falling apart.

15057440

sajdoia

This book have dual perspectives though the majority of it were from Skylar’s; and Josh’s POV were just glimpses of his thoughts and hints of his time in Afghan.

I really like Skylar, I love that she tried over and over again to solve her problems and not run away from it. She was a very strong person, considering her situation with her mom. (I hate her mom so much during that time, I was shaking my head at her in disapproval all the time). 

There was this time in the middle of the book that my negative feelings for Skylar started to grow because she neglected her friends. You know that time when the girl was just obsessed with the boy and forget her friends? Chris and Dylan, her bestfriends, just disappeared at the time and it bothered me so much because I love them. Their friendship was very fun to read about and very relatable/realistic.

I really like the argument parts in the book, is that weird? lol I just thought it was done so well that I cringed at every shouting and that’s good, it wasn’t overdone.

As for Josh, he wasn’t a swoon-worthy type for me, he was okay. I really like to read from his POV because I got to see what he went through in the Marines and what changed the asshole to this broken man. And getting to see kind of a behind the scenes of the Marines’ life was very inspiring.

For the relationship, Josh and Skylar, it was amazing because they changed each other for the better or more like helped perfect each other. It was pretty slow-paced, which is fresh to read about after the other books that people started making out in the second chapter. There were those I want him but I can’t have him thoughts from Skylar tho which is not my favorite part, but the author explained her thoughts in a quotation style which I loved! My other favourite point is like every good books, it has the sarcastic hilarious dialogues that I adored.

“I bet there’s air-conditioning in heaven,” I said. “Maybe it’s just the perfect temperature—low seventies with a breeze?” Josh said.”

kjsld

It was beautiful! It has that deep quotsy feels to every words.

Examples:

1.

“You can’t have the light without the dark, right? Maybe our darkness was necessary for other people to see their light.”

2.

“He looked down for a minute, and it was as if there was this huge mountain between us, and I hated that after everything we’d been through this summer, we’d have to admit that it was impossible. We were impossible.”

3.

“It was like the whole town was swimming in failure, but no one realized they were drowning.”

4.

“The shimmering bubbles of happiness that had been floating all around me popped one by one, the whole breathlessness of our summer becoming nothing more than old soap on a stained industrial carpet.”

You have to experience the rest by yourself! 😀

My rating: 4.5/5

I’ll meet you there by Heather Demetrios is a beautiful, coming-of-age novel that won’t exactly change your life but will definitely teach you a few important things about life!

“Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing, there is a field. I’ll meet you there.”

I just want to quickly mention that the Author’s Note and Acknowledgement in this book was just as inspiring as the book ❤


And that was my review of this amazing book! Highly recommend to you! 😀

HAPPY READING,

Picture1jj

9 thoughts on “Book Review | I’LL MEET YOU THERE by Heather Demetrios

  1. This, I admit, is a book I wouldn’t normally read, but the reviews are so compelling, and damn, you’re right the writing is great. I mean, that’s what I could get from your review. I also like the cover and the sign in there, haha. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

