Book Tag | THE NOSTALGIC BOOK REVIEW

hELLO  LOVELY STRANGERS! (Whoops! Caps Lock was on ;))

tumblr_lcr7j2phjn1qbl11oo1_500

I’m sorry for the disappearance in blog posts for a week! This past week I’d been very busy as there was a traditional festival going on in Cambodia, it’s called “Pchum Ben” which lasts for 15 days and during those days it was believed that spirits were released to receive merit that us-the descendants- are going to send to them so that they can live comfortably. Did I say live? I mean stay in their place comfortably with enough foods and stuffs. I think Pchum Ben is kinda like Halloween you know with the release spirits and stuffs just we don’t have trick or treats here. Anyway, I got to travel quiet a lot than usual during the holidays and couldn’t blog then. But I’m back!

I was tagged by the awesome Aldii over at Perfection in Books, her blog is perfection 😉 Check it out! 😀

This tag was originally created by CW from Read, Think, Ponder. I think this idea is very unique and I can’t wait to test my brain memory! Let’s get started!

How the tag works:

How the Tag Works

In this tag, you will be reviewing a book you read three or more years ago (if you started reading less than three years ago, tell us about your first book). The best part: you will be reviewing the book purely from memory. I hope you all have fantastic memory (because I certainly don’t)!

Here is the tag, broken down into three parts:

1. The Summary.

First, tell us a little bit about this book, and approximately when you read it. Write a summary (brief, long, anything you like!) of the book you are reviewing.

Some prompts and questions to help you:

  • Describe characters and important events in the book (to the best of your ability).
  • What were the themes, if any? (If your summary contains spoilers, please give a warning at the top of your summary!)

Note: This means that you are not allowed to look up specific details of the book if you do not remember them. Remember — purely from memory! If you don’t remember that one name, write what you think they were called. Hands off Google, everyone!

2. The Thoughts.

Share your thoughts on your chosen book. Reflect and talk about what you thought of the book back then.

Prompts for thee!

  • How did you feel after reading this book? What were your thoughts?
  • Do you think anything – your feelings, thoughts, opinions – would have changed since you last read it?
  • Would your interpretation of the book’s themes, ideas or messages back then be different compared to now?
  • For extra brownie points: Talk about how this book changed you as a person, and how it shaped you to become the person you are today. Maybe share how this book has influenced you since you have read it. Did it make a significant impact on your life? How? Have you changed much since reading this book?

3. The Epilogue.

Here’s the fun part: now you can look up a summary of the book – find all those names that you couldn’t remember, those plot points that seemed pretty important – and all those things you might have forgotten. Don’t go back and edit the summary from the first part!

ighgtfr

  • Please link back to Read Think Ponder’s post, so that the original rules are always accessible to anyone who is curious and wants to participate!
  • Remember: do not look up your book when writing its Summary and Thoughts.
  • Acknowledge the person who tagged you in your post.
  • Tag your friends and fellow bloggers – it’s up to you how many!

Since I just got into this YA community last year, this book I’m gonna review is one I just read at the end of 2014 tho I assure you I forgot most it. And the book is *drums roll* Legend by Marie Lu.

awefa

So,….lol this book was a duo POV book, Day and June (crap I almost forgot June’s name), when it came to Day’s POV, the color of the text was yellowish brown and the font was like typewriter font.

Both Day and June are prodigy, like Day who was 15! could rob a bank in 10s (I remember it was sth illegal he did in a very short time like 4 seconds but I can’t remember the crime) and was the most wanted criminal that even the police didn’t know his face and he was 15!. And June is a sister of the general, Matthew? Marcus? it’s M sth. oh, METIAS! and his best friend? I can’t remember the best friend name. (Spoiler Alert: I was spoiled that they are gay -.- and who killed who -.- ) 

Anyway, June was a prodigy as she is very fast and smart, she graduated before all her friends at a young age too. I think there was some kind of disease going on in this world? and Day’s younger brother caught it and need the serum or whatever that Day had to break into the lab to get it and that day Metias was killed and people suspected Day (Wait I’m not sure they suspected Day or not, whats the plot in that part?) After that I’m not really sure, how Day met June and stuffs. I only know that June stayed with him at his hideout and they kissed. And Day had a friend at the hideout whose name i can’t remember. And we have that General sth (Spoiler: the woman who shot Day’s mom?) and what’s the name of the girl they met at the pub? Let’s take a break with the question marks and jump to the next session which is going to be my thoughts.

rfe

I remember liking it so much also very jealous of Day and June s’ abilities, I mean they are 15 and look how they can fight and stuffs. I’m 15 and I still shriek when I see cockroaches. -.-

I also remember that I felt kinda disappointed at the scene that Day broke into the lab to steal the serum thing, he had a plan that day but the plan was like he was trying to get himself killed. I mean he was the most wanted criminal, he was supposed to have a masterplan going into the lap. But instead he just jumped in there and nearly got caught escaping and I remembered he even got shot in the leg? or some other body part.

I remembered feeling very shocked that the General sth shot a person without second thought. She was like “Day come out, or I’ll shoot her” and she did! Without any other warning.

I don’t remember any other storyline but I think I gave it 4 stars but I haven’t picked up the rest of the series.

I just remembered the endings, I think the rescue plan at the end was pretty suicidal too, I’m still thinking about the ending, I’m not entirely sure I remembered the ending of this book right or I confused it with other books -.-

If I read this book now I think I might enjoy it a bit more than the last time or it would be boring because I’m not a fan of dystopian.

oijohiug

  • From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death.

So I’m right that Day was a suspect of the murder!

  • She’s just 15 but she’s so freaking smart (like the only one who got a perfect score on her Trial, which is a required test they take once they turn 13 smart) (Taken from Erika and Miedjel from Partner in Books’ review of Legend)

And i totally forgot there was a test. (I just remembered Day didn’t pass the test at 13-that’s the public result anyway- and he went with those people who failed it too to some places they were taken to. UGHH that doesn’t make sense)

  • Thomas and Commander Jamnson and Tess

And now we have the names from Metias’s best friend and the Commander who I called General sth and Day’s friend.

I think that’s all? lol I did a pretty good job! 😀

I enjoyed racking my brains for all the info lol and I want you to have the fun too!

Picture1iodsaoidaw

(Feel free to ignore this if your busy or whatever :D)


So this post was a bit long. Hope you have fun reading! It probably doesnt make sense for the most part, it’s probably just chunks of words lol But anyway, happy reading!

XXXX,

The Spines Breaker

PS. Math tuition today (in 3 hours) please send help TT 911 (I still forget that the number doesn’t work here ==)

6 thoughts on “Book Tag | THE NOSTALGIC BOOK REVIEW

  1. Wow you actually remembered so much from the book. I tried doing this a while back and I struggled haha. My memory palace is apparently a mess!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

