Book Review | JUST ONE DAY by Gayle Forman

Helloooooooo peeps!

I haven’t done a book review in ages because I haven’t read a book in ages. But the time has come! 😀

So…I am not a fan of If I Stay, both the book and the movie. The reason why I pick this book up was because everybody says it’s good and much better than If I stay. Also It’s set in Paris. ❤

Title: Just One Day (Just One Day #1)

Author: Gayle Forman

Pages: 416 pages

Publication: August 20th 2013 by Speak
Ingredients: Self-Discovery, Different Cultures, Adventure, Romance, YA
Source: Bought
Ratings: 4/5 stars
“Because that day with Willem, I may have pretended to be someone named Lulu, but I had never been more honest in my life.
Maybe that’s the thing with liberation. It comes at a price.”
Allyson Healey’s life is exactly like her suitcase—packed, planned, ordered. Then on the last day of her three-week post-graduation European tour, she meets Willem. A free-spirited, roving actor, Willem is everything she’s not, and when he invites her to abandon her plans and come to Paris with him, Allyson  aka Lulu says yes. This uncharacteristic decision leads to a day of risk and romance, liberation and intimacy: 24 hours that will transform Allyson’s life. (GoodReads)

After that one day in Paris, Willem left. Allyson was heartbroken and had to go to college devastated. And she definitely didn’t heal and she decided she just need an answer as to why he left or why he talked to her in the first place.

“Part of me knows one more day won’t do anything except postpone the heartbreak. But another part of me believes differently. We are born in one day. We die in one day. We can change in one day. And we can fall in love in one day. Anything can happen in just one day.”

I think this book was pretty decent. It would have been five stars if not because I didn’t enjoy the beginning, the part when Lulu was with Willem. I know, I should be swooning over the romance, but really the beginning was really boring for me. I couldn’t really connect with them and most of their jokes weren’t even funny (for me) which was a very big problem. But I like Allyson and her journey of finding Willem, also her journey through college, the journey of her finding herself.

As for Willem, I have no feeling for him, I don’t understand his theory and stuffs, but I don’t dislike him either. I can’t wait to know more about him in the next book tho.

“Willem tsk-tsks. “You Americans are so violent. I’m Dutch. The worst I will do is run her over with a bicycle.”

Another thing is I love that this book was a mixture of different cultures. There was Mandarin, Dutch, Paris and more. Though, I’m not entirely satisfied with how the author described Paris. Or Holland. I couldn’t imagine the places, it was kinda flat, like it didn’t transport me to the cities.

“I want to undo this. To make it right. But I have no idea how. I don’t seem to know how to open up to people without getting the door slammed in my face. So I do nothing.”

As for the writing style, it was simple and easy to read and I quiet liked that.

“But what if Shakespeare― and Hamlet― were asking the wrong question? What if the real question is not whether to be, but how to be?”

There was a huge cliffhanger at the end and I love that! The ending was one of the best part. I’ll definitely pick up Just One Year soon! In need of Contemporary Romance for this season 😀

Like all other reviews of this book have mentioned, Just One Day is a book of self-discovery. And I definitely recommend it.

“I’m also starting to wonder something else. If maybe the point of this crazy quest I’m on wasn’t to help me find Willem. Maybe it was to help me find someone else entirely.”

And that’s the end of this review!

Happy Reading,

The Spines Breaker XX

9 thoughts on “Book Review | JUST ONE DAY by Gayle Forman

  1. I usually wouldn’t pick up this kind of book, it’s not my style at all, but your review left me tempted, haha! I already know I will hate both main characters if I really get to read it, but omg, the curiosity is killing me, haha! Wonderful review! ❤ Missed reading them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: November Wrap-up |

Leave a Reply

