Book Review | THE LOVER’S DICTIONARY by David Levithan

Hi friends!

I know this is completely out of the bookish topic but I went to Jessie J’s concert yesterday! Finally crossing out one thing from my bucket list (going to a concert). Well, actually I crossed it out a few months ago when Demi Lovato came to Cambodia. Getting back to Jessie J, I’m still so pumped about everything even though it’s over since last night. I wasn’t that close to the stage (Actually pretty far) but that didn’t stop me from having fun! I screamed and sang along and danced (can you believe that? me? the most introvert and shy and nerdy person ever). I came home when it was almost midnight and got a full session with mom and dad and there was no voice came out when i spoke and now that my voice is still hoarse, I regret nothing of it! I was and am so cheerful that my friend thought I was drunk. 🙂



Now let’s get on with the business deal (woah that sounds like I’m selling drugs wtf), I read The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan a few days ago in an ebook form. I have read another book by David Levithan, Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares, which I loved the first half and only like the second half (mini review here).

At first, I was very intrigued that it’s written like a dictionary but I have heard mixed things so I couldn’t bring myself to buy a physical copy because I was afraid it won’t be that good.


And now that I’ve read it, I think it was decent but still lack something. 

I don’t think it’s the fact that I wasn’t given the name of the protagonists, or that I wasn’t even sure if the narrator’s gender was a male or female, or that there was no ending or anything of that sort. Well the last one was a bit of a problem; I enjoyed reading it, I kept scrolling down for more, it was entertaining and it ended. So when it ended like that, I found myself thinking back to the reading experience and thought ‘well, that was pretty good’, but also looking back to the story, I felt like I don’t even know the characters or their story.

In this book, the main focus was on the relationship of the couple therefore there wasn’t much family time or friends time, it was mentioned just a couple of times. But I don’t mind that since it’s only about 200 e-pages, and I only want the relationship to be great but the story of the couple even wasn’t enough.

I felt like I was reading quotes after quotes and not a connected story (some were tho). Some words got the whole page and some got just a line, some were good memories, and some were arguments. I kinda like this aspect of the book, that it was unpredictable. I also like the voice of the narrator (I think he is a he-not 100% sure tho because the first half I considered he/she a she :///)

I feel like I’m repeating myself that the story wasn’t enough, so here’s my final rating:

3.5/5

And these are a few of my favorite words and explanations:

 





 

And this is the end of my review! I’ll hopefully see you in my next one ❤

Happy reading and Merry Christmas,

Kimsiang

6 thoughts on “Book Review | THE LOVER’S DICTIONARY by David Levithan

  1. I’ll probably end up feeling the same way as you, but I still kinda want to read this book because of the interesting format. I really like the dictionary style entries! Thanks for including pictures of your favorite lines (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

