Book Review | The Final Empire (MISTBORN #1) by Brandon Sanderson

Hello, bookworms!

I’m back with a book review of The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson. To say in a few words, I love this book. I don’t even know where to start and this is one of those books that I think you should go into it not knowing too much and experience all the amazingness firsthand, therefore, for the non-spoiler part of this review I will give you reasons as to why you should read this book and also why you shouldn’t.

6547258

You should read this book because:

  • It has amazing world-building. It’s set in this world where ash falls from the sky and mist roams the night. Like, doesn’t that make you want to pick this book up?
  • The characters! The characters are very well-developed. They are flawed and real, their wits and humor are my favorites! The relationships and friendships are to die for! The main character was Vin (that’s a very popular name in Cambodia btw, I know not less than ten people with that name lol), she was a Mistborn which means she can do magic by burning metals.
  • It will blow you away (Well, it did me). The plot was very engaging and even tho I wasn’t hooked until about 80 pages, once I was in, I never wanted to get back out! The storyline surprised me again and again, I could never guessed it! and so many plot twists! πŸ˜€
  • The magic I just mentioned! The magic system in this book was one of the best thing. It was very unique and cool. I love that even with that magic, they aren’t invincible and the magic too has its limits which make it even more real.

However, you shouldn’t pick this book up if:

  • You don’t want to experience all the awesomeness I just mentioned because you are still not convinced (whyyyy?) and you are intimidated by the size (I know I know but don’t be! It’s amazing from the first page till the end.)
  • You don’t want to be shattered into pieces (Because i did. I’ve heard that many people saw it coming but I didn’t and it was not okay. I still can not.)

β€œThat’s the funny thing about arriving somewhere, Vin,” he said with a wink. β€œOnce you’re there, the only thing you can really do is leave again.”

I gave this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars!


And that’s it for the non-spoiler part.And obviously I recommend you pick it up! πŸ˜€ I hope you enjoy it as I did πŸ˜€ and come back once you’ve read so we can discuss!


Spoilery Discussions: (You’ve been warned!)

This book started out amazingly. I was thrown into this world where ash fell from the sky, it’s divided into noblemen and skaas. And there’s magic too! I was completely sold.

Then we met Vin, an introverted, observant girl, I already liked her. Tho I prefer Kelsier’s POV.

The crew tho, they are all amazing, I can’t think of another time when I enjoyed scenes about 30-year-old guys even just having a chat.

‘He’s such a fine lad,’ Breeze noted, accepting the drink. ‘I barely even have to nudge him Allomantically. If only the rest of you ruffians were so accommodating.’

Spook frowned. ‘Niceing the not on the playing without.’

‘I have no idea what you just said, child,’ Breeze said. ‘So I’m simply going to pretend it was coherent, then move on.’

Kelsier rolled his eyes. ‘Losing the stress on the nip,’ he said. ‘Notting without the needing of care.’

‘What are you two babbling about?’ Breeze said testily.

‘Ever wasing the wish of having the have,’ Ham added with a smile. ‘Brighting the wish of wasing the not.’

Breeze turned to Dockson with exasperation. ‘I believe our companions have finally lost their minds, dear friend.’

Dockson shrugged. Then, with a perfectly straight face, he said, ‘Wasing not of wasing is.”  

I loveeeee that scene, I was dying of laughter XD

Now let’s talk about the ending.

I didn’t realize how attached I was to the story and the character until Kelsier died. and that easy? For all that he has one? Ughhh. That scene. How did people see it coming? I was not okay. I would have broken down if I was not reading in a cafe at that time. I thought that maybe this was another plan of his, faking his own death for whatever I don’t care I just want to know that he didn’t die for real. I continue to read for about 20 pages more and there was still no sign of him. UGHHH.

The ending was very surprising, with Marsh turned into the Inquisitors, and The Lord Ruler was actually Rashek. All of those blew me away, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I want to after Kelsier was gone. :(((

But overall, The Final Empire has become one of my favorites book now. I definitely recommend this book!


 

And that’s all I have at the moment! Feel free to comment down if you want to discuss!

Thanks for reading! πŸ˜€

-Kimsiang @ TheSpinesBreaker

 

11 thoughts on “Book Review | The Final Empire (MISTBORN #1) by Brandon Sanderson

  1. Glad to see I was not the only one broken by Kelsier’s death. I have read the entire series, and he was my favourite throughout… heck, he’s one of my favourite characters of all time. 😦 That said, I still really enjoyed the book, and I think you will enjoy the next two quite a lot!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It didn’t take me long to read the proceeding 2 books of this series! Don’t delay! I don’t usually read “modern” fantasy but I’d heard so much about him, I figured oh what the heck. Wow. My next to-read of his is Elantris, which I believe is his first published book.

    Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

