Book Review | CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell

Hello there!

I’m back today with a review of the book, Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. Let’s jump right in!

Title: Carry On

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Pages: 522 pages

Publication date: October 6th 2015 by St. Martin’s Griffin

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, YA


 

Carry On, like other Rainbow Rowell’s books, is a fluffy, cute, warm read. I was very entertained throughout the book though I had a few minor issues πŸ™‚

If you have read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, you must have known about Simon Snow and Baz.

Carry On had about 6 POVs (Baz’s was my favorite) and it was about Simon Snow who was the chosen one, as in the greatest hero who would save the magic world from the villain, the Hundrum. Simon was sent off to the magic school to learn spells and stuffs; and there he had a roommate, Baz, who seemed to despise him and tried to kill him all the time. Also, Baz was a vampire. And the story kinda progressed from there.

It was heavily influenced by the Harry Potter series, which is one of the main issue I had. The reference was so obvious and that makes the story lacks a bit of originality.

Another issue I had was the ending, I just feel like the reasons and explanations didn’t make much sense and it wasn’t that epic. It didn’t go the way I wanted it to and the direction that it went, it wasn’t not good but I guess it was not satisfying enough.

Except those two points I mentioned, I really like this book. I especially love the relationships between the characters and the characters. I ship Simon and Baz soooooo hard. Like they are the hottest couple ever πŸ˜€ Rainbow writes in a way that her characters seem so real, the way they talk, feel, and react is how we interact in our everyday lives. That makes the character so flawed and lovable. (Agatha and The Mare was not my favourite lol)

Overall, I really like this story, it was very enjoyable. The humor was on point, relationship more than anything XD I really like Rainbow’s writing as I mentioned.

I gave this book 4.5/5 stars.


That’s all I have for this review! I definitely recommend this book. 

What about you? πŸ˜€

Happy Reading and Until Next time,

Kimsiang @ TheSpinesBreaker

 

 

13 thoughts on “Book Review | CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I’ve actually been rereading Harry Potter and I’ve been feeling in a really Harry Potter mood, so I think the fact that Carry On is so much like it will actually be a good thing (for my particular situation), although I totally understand how it’s a bit annoying since it means the story’s not so original. And I’ve heard so much about Baz and Simon perfection, so I definitely definitely need to read this book and experience it for myself πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

