Arc Review | THE TRUTH by Jeffry W Johnston

HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR, GUYS! I wish you all the best, books, money, happiness, and prosperity!

It’s the first day of Chinese New Year, and I’m presenting you with a book review of The Truth by Jeffry W Johnston.

The Truth

Title: The Truth

Author: Jeffry W.Johnston

Pages: 240 pages

Publication: 2nd Feb 2016

Genre: Mystery, Crime, YA

Source: Arc from Netgalley

*I received an e-arc of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This doesn’t affect my opinion in any way.*

The Truth was a short read and I really enjoyed it. It was about Chris, a 16-year-old, who was kidnapped after he killed a teenager who intruded his house. The brother of the intruder, Derek, kidnapped/came up to Chris because he wanted to know ‘the truth’ about his brother’s death, and the story took place from there.

The story was told from Chris’s point of view and was divided into two parts: then and now. “Then” showed us everything that happened when Chris shot Derek’s brother, everything that Chris had to faced after he killed a thirteen-year-old teenager, how that changed his life and till the moment Derek kidnapped Chris. “Now” is during the kidnapping, how Derek forced Chris to tell “the truth” and when “the truth” was finally revealed.

I really enjoyed the book, I was a bit unsatisfied with the way it ended tho I like the twist at the end. But the story as a whole was really captivating and kept you on your seat and since it was quiet short, the 200sth pages was definitely worth it. There were some dull moments when Chris was talking about the past which made me down the rating by one star.

I rated it 3.5/ 5 stars.
Overall, I would recommend this book to those who fancies a short mystery/crime read!

The Truth was released on the 2nd of February 2016, so you can grab your copy now!


That’s all I have for this review, I hope you enjoyed it. I would love to know if you picked it up 😀

Happy Lunar New Year,

Kimsiang @ THESPINESBREAKER

One thought on “Arc Review | THE TRUTH by Jeffry W Johnston

Leave a Reply

