Book Review | BETWEEN SHADES OF GRAY by Ruta Sepetys

Greetings, readers!

I’m back today to share my thoughts and opinions on Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys, my first ever historical fiction and definitely not the last.


Title: Between Shades of Gray

Author: Ruta Sepetys

Pages: 352 pages

Publications: April 3rd 2012 by Speak (first published March 22nd 2011)

Genre: Historical Fiction, World war 2, YA


“Have you ever wondered what a human life is worth? That morning, my brother’s was worth a pocket watch.”

Set in World War 2, across Russia and to the North Pole, during the course of 12 years of imprisonment, we follow a sixteen-year-old Lithuanian girl, Lina, who was hauled from her house with her mother and brother and thrown into a cattle car en route to Siberia. Separated from her father, Lina secretly passes along clues in the form of drawings, hoping they will reach his prison camp.

It was a tragically and deeply moving true story, pointless wars that only results in innocent people suffering.

“We’d been trying to touch the sky from the bottom of the ocean.”

I honestly have no clue as to how I would write a review that could convince you to read this amazingly written book.

The characters, Lina, her family, the people on the car she was with, the people at camp were all so real to me. I loved them, I hate them at times, they are flawed, they are selfish, they are caring, they are scared, they are humans.

“Andrius, I’m…scared.”

He stopped and turned to me. “No. Don’t be scared. Don’t give them anything Lina, not even your fear.”

The plot was heart- wrenching and, of course, well-researched. The Baltic States of Lithuania, Estonia, and Latvia lost more than a third of their population during the Soviet annihilation, and not many people know about it. Lina and the other passengers on the car were imprisoned in the North Pole, freezing for 11 years, and before that a year of traveling, being separated from loved ones. I mean, me? I wouldn’t even survive a month. It was a beautiful story about love and survival. Lina is a very strong and beautiful protagonist- a heroine- and I will remember this story-her story- forever.

“Sometimes kindness can be delivered in a clumsy way.”

The writing was beautiful, I wanted more, I couldn’t put it down, it was just engrossing.

I had absolutely no problem with this book, yes, it was flawless.

5 to infinity stars.

I want everyone to read this book.

I’ll definitely be picking more by Ruta Sepetys, and more historical fictions, it’s a genre I would love to be invested in!

“What was life asking of me? How could I respond when I didn’t know the question?”


Thank you for reading! Please go read the book if you haven’t already. If you have, what did you think of it?

Until next time,

Kimsiang @ Stories + Brushes

3 thoughts on “Book Review | BETWEEN SHADES OF GRAY by Ruta Sepetys

Leave a Reply

